Central Teacher Eligibility Test i.e. CTET, and graduate and postgraduate level teacher aptitude test i.e. TGT and PGT are examinations conducted by the government for the recruitment of teachers. In which the ‘teaching aptitude’ of the applicants is checked. By explaining these three separately, we can easily understand the difference between them TGT, PGT, and CTET exams.

PRT, TGT, and PGT: Highlights

Teaching Posts PRT, TGT, PGT
PRT Full Form Primary Teacher
TGT Full Form Trained Graduate Teacher
PGT Full Form Post Graduate Teacher
Teaching Class for PRT Class 1-V
Teaching Class for TGT Class V1-VIII
Teaching Class for PGT Class IX-XII

‘Central Teachers Eligibility Test (CTET) and TET

First of all, let us see what is CTET or ‘Central Teacher Eligibility Aptitude Test’!

We know that earlier teacher who used to teach were appointed on the basis of their 10th, 12th, and graduation level mark sheets prepared on the basis of merit lists. But since 2011, the government implemented a new rule, making it mandatory to pass a test to check the ‘teacher aptitude’ of the applicant for teaching children. So that it can be seen how capable he is to teach children physically and mentally.

These exams are conducted separately at the central and state level. In this way, the test conducted by the centre is called the ‘Central Teacher Aptitude Test’ for CTET and a similar state-level examination is called ‘Teacher Aptitude Test’ or TET.  For candidates fulfilling the CTET eligibility criteria and who want to appear in this, it is mandatory to have 50% marks in 12th. These examinations or tests are conducted twice a year.

It is obvious that if you are willing to teach anywhere in the whole country under the Government of India, then at the central level, and if you want to be a teacher in your own state, then you have to give the state level test. To pass this exam, the applicant has to secure a minimum of 60 percent marks. However, even after passing the ‘test’, the applicant is appointed on the basis of ‘merit list. To become any kind of teacher, it is mandatory for you to first pass the ‘Teaching Aptitude Test’.

TGT and PGT–

These exams are state-level. If you want to be a teacher of ‘Senior Secondary’ ie ‘Higher Secondary’ status, then you must have 50% marks in your own ‘Senior Secondary’ ie 12th level. Apart from this, at least four years ‘Bachelor of Elementary Education’ must be passed, or have taken admission in it. Apart from this, you should also have a certificate for the computer diploma course.

stands for ‘Trained Graduate Teacher’ or Trained Graduate Teacher. That is such teachers who have at least a bachelor’s level degree. Often they are BEd and teach students up to high school. means ‘Post Graduate Teachers’. Such teachers have Masters ie ‘Post Graduate’ level degrees like MA, MSc, MCom, etc.; And they teach the students of class 11-12.

It is worth mentioning here that to become a teacher of any kind of TGT or PGT, first, you must have passed a ‘teacher aptitude test’ i.e. – CTET or TET. That is, even after passing PGT or TGT, if you want to teach anywhere in the country, then you must first CTET i.e. ‘Central Teacher Aptitude Test’ and if you are willing to be appointed somewhere in your state, then state-level ‘Teacher Aptitude Test’ or TET. Passing is mandatory.


CTET exam is different from TGT and PGT, CTET is an eligibility test for PRT and TGT. After the TGT exam, you can teach students from classes 6 to 10. You can prepare with BYJU’s Exam Prep to crack the exam in the first go. In PGT, you can teach students up to class 12, its full name is the postgraduate teacher. If a candidate is searching for a government job in the field of PRT and TGT, then the child has to clear the CTET exam. The syllabus of the CTET exam is based on different subjects of PRT and TGT.

Stay Connect with Education Blog & If you have an education blog than write for us education.